Curriculum Overview

Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum

Year R and Nursery

The Early Years’ curriculum is for children aged between birth and 5 years old. Our Nursery setting is for children from age 3. Both Nursery and Reception plan and assess children in relation to the Early Years’ Curriculum. There are seven areas of learning and development that must shape educational programmes in Early Years settings. The Early Years Curriculum is being revised in 2020/202

Shatterlocks is an Early Adopter School for the new EYFS in September 2020.

Teachers consider the individual needs, interests and stage of development of each child in their care, and use this information to plan a challenging and enjoyable experience for each child in all the areas of learning and development. Each area of learning is implemented through planned, purposeful play and through a mix of adult-led and child initiated activity. In planning and guiding children’s activities, teachers reflect the different ways that children learn and reflect these in their practice using the characteristics of effective learning.


Key Stage One Curriculum - National Curriculum

Year One and Year Two - Key Stage One

This is for children aged 5 to 7 years. The subjects of the National Curriculum together with Religious Education form the basis of children’s work. The National Curriculum provides pupils with an introduction to the essential knowledge that they need to be educated citizens. At Shatterlocks we have detailed and varied curriculum planning so that each child is offered learning appropriate to their ability and stage of development, all aspects of the National Curriculum are covered and that progression is ensured. The Curriculum is delivered through exciting topics, whilst also providing clear and appropriate progression of knowledge and skills in all subjects; English, Maths Science, History, Geography, Art and design, Music, PE and computing. Please see our class pages for more detailed information about Termly topics.